College Football & Basketball Fans

College Forums | Team Apparel & Merchandise | Articles | CFB Playoff & Bowls | NCAA Tournament

Rice Owls Football Bowl History

While the Rice football program does not have a deep history of success on the gridiron, especially through the 1960s, 1970s, 1980s and 1990s. But Rice has returned to postseason play multiple times since 2006 including an appearance in the 2013 Liberty Bowl as the Champions of Conference USA.


Rice Bowl Record: 7-5

Stats Through 2014 College Bowl Games

Bowl Game Winning Team Losing Team
1938 Cotton Bowl Rice 28 Colorado 14
1947 Orange Bowl Rice 8 Tennesee 0
1950 Cotton Bowl Rice 27 North Carolina 13
1954 Cotton Bowl Rice 28 Alabama 6
1958 Cotton Bowl Navy 20 Rice 7
1961 Sugar Bowl Ole Miss 14 Rice 6
1961 Bluebonnet Bowl Kansas 33 Rice 7
2006 New Orleans Bowl Troy 41 Rice 17
2008 Texas Bowl Rice 38 Western Michigan 14
2012 Armed Forces Bowl Rice 33 Air Force 14
2013 Liberty Bowl Mississippi State 44 Rice 7
2014 Hawaii Bowl Rice 30 Fresno State 6


  is the home of the Dash Fans Network of independent college sports fan sites. If you are interested in having a link to your site from College Sports Fans or in joining the Dash Fans Network, or if you are interested in advertising on the Dash Fans Network, please visit our Contact Info page.

CSF Home | Sports Writing Positions | College Sports Fan Sites | College Sports Featured Articles | Sitemap


Directory of College Sports Message Boards & Forums by Conference



Copyright 2005-2015, and the Dash Fans Network of Independent Sports Fan Sites.